Papers – National Integrity Conference 2017


Opening Session
Opening Remarks
Prof. A J Brown, Griffith University

IBAC Victoria
Stephen O’Brien QC, Commissioner, IBAC Victoria

Strengthening Australia’s National Integrity System
Fiona McLeod SC, President, Law Council of Australia

Session 2
Restoring Trust in Government – the Priorities
Prof. John McMillan, Acting NSW Ombudsman

Restoring trust in Government and Business
Kate Hughes, Chief Risk Officer, Telstra

Session 3
Preventing corruption – an integrity agency perspective
Rebecca Denning, National Integrity System Project

How do we strengthen Australia’s National Integrity System?
Janet Ransley, National Integrity System Project

Building an Ethical Culture
Heidi Dunbar Jonson, Group General Manager, Enterprise Risk, iag

Business Case for Integrity
Tim Robinson, Global Ethics & Compliance Manager, Orica Ltd

Building trust in Australian Businesses
Catherine Hawkins, First Assistant Secretary, Criminal Justice Policy and Programmes Division, Commonwealth Attorney-General’s Department

Strategic Approaches to Corruption Prevention (Public Sector)
National Integrity System Project Team


Business Breakfast – sponsored by CPA Australia
Indonesia: Insights & Implications
Natalia Soebagjo, Chair, TI Indonesia

Session 1
Whistleblower Protections
Holly Lindsay, TI Australia, Australian Council of Superannuation Investors

Whistleblowing Protection 2018
Lauren Witherdin, KPMG

Session 2
Anti-Corruption Agencies in Australia; Roles, Challenges & Gaps
A J MacSporran QC, Chairperson, Crime and Corruption Commission (Qld)

Integrity of Purpose: Designing a Federal Anti-Corruption Commission PAPER
Integrity of Purpose: Designing a Federal Anti-Corruption Commission PRESENTATION
Dr Grant Hoole & Assoc. Prof. Gabrielle Appleby, Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law, UNSW Law

Session 3
Open government: what (else) can it deliver for integrity?
The Hon. Ken Coghill, Department of Management – Monash University

BHP Billiton’s Economic Contribution & Payments to Governments Report
James Ensor, President, BHP-Billiton Foundation