EVENT: Through the Looking Glass: Corruption Risk in Mining Licensing and Permitting in the Pandemic Era

covid mining

Launch Event: Corruption Risk in Mining Licensing and Permitting in the Pandemic Era

Please join us for the launch of Transparency International’s Accountable Mining Programme’s latest research on how COVID-19 has influenced the way mining licences and permits have been awarded.

Our research paper- Through the Looking Glass: Corruption Risk in Mining Licensing and Permitting in the Pandemic Eraexamines the current and future impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic and outlines seven intersecting themes that characterise the changed landscape for corruption risk in the approval of mining licensing and permitting. The analysis draws on over 80 semi-structured stakeholder interviews as well as desktop research and primary information sources. The paper also considers the broader implications for environmental, social and governance (ESG) performance in the mining sector.

The launch will run for one hour on Zoom and will be held twice to accommodate different time zones. It will be held on:

  • Thursday 29th April at 5.30pm AEST/ 9.30am CEST/ 3.30am EDT
  • Thursday 30th April at 7am AEST/ (29th April: 11pm CEST/ 5pm EDT)

RELATED POST